Hear from the team

  • Clubhouse: Monday 29th March at 7pm AEDT (8am GMT, 4pm SGT, 11am IST). RSVP.

  • Zoom: Tuesday 30th March at 8am EDT (2pm PST, 5pm EST, 9pm GMT). RSVP.

About Square Peg

Square Peg exists to empower the exceptional.

We founded Square Peg in 2012 to partner with the next generation of tech pioneers and assist them as they grow and scale their organisations. We are proud to have partnered with companies such as Canva, Fiverr, PropertyGuru and Airwallex.

Today, we manage US$1b+ across our venture funds. Our investor group includes superannuation funds, endowments, family offices and entrepreneurs, who are aligned with us in committing to tech investing over the long-term.

Square Peg is now charting new territory. We’re expanding our purpose to empower the exceptional, and building a new team to invest in global listed technology companies. The expansion into listed equities will give us the opportunity to support more great founders.

We believe that investing in and researching companies and themes across private and public markets has a unique advantage. Our specific advantage in public markets will stem from deep knowledge of tech trends and markets, business models, and a focus on successful founders and teams through our venture business. This differentiated skillset will allow us to identify and support companies that will create substantial shareholder value over the long-term.

This new approach means hiring a new team – one that will help to build the foundations of our new strategy. We are hiring an Investment Analyst and a Senior Investment Analyst to form our Listed Investments team, working alongside our newly appointed (internally promoted) Portfolio Manager.

The Roles

These roles will be based in Melbourne, Australia.

This is a rare opportunity to become an integral part of the founding team, contribute meaningfully to debate and decision making, and share in the success of our funds.

Collectively, the Listed Investments team will:

  • Work together to develop the strategy for the Listed Investments team

  • Work closely with other Listed team members to deeply understand businesses, their teams, and the markets in which they operate

  • Contribute materially to decision-making within the fund

  • Continually reassess views on holdings and companies of interest

  • Learn from and work with members of the venture capital team and portfolio to develop insights to drive ideation and focus in our research

  • Contribute creatively to the building out of our research capability

  • Demonstrate an innate hunger and passion for tech and investing

We are searching for an Investment Analyst who is:

  • Immersed in and passionate about tech. This experience may have been gained working in a high-growth tech company or other similar roles (3 + years’ experience)

  • Knowledgeable about how tech companies operate and scale their teams, processes and products

  • Confident in framing and performing analysis to feed decisions

  • Creative and curious

  • Practical and outcomes-driven

  • Passionate about investing and be able to articulate how and why they invest (but it doesn’t need to be their day job!)

And we are also searching for a Senior Investment Analyst who is:

  • Immersed in tech trends and market developments

  • Experienced (5+ years’ experience) in buy-side investing in listed equity markets, with a track record of excellence, gained working in teams in fast-paced, high-output environments

  • Proficient in understanding business models with different growth, profitability, and capital intensity profiles, including the drivers of value and economics of tech business models

  • Intellectually curious and honest

  • A clear and concise communicator

Our Listed Investment team will share our commitment to the values that guide our work:

  • Be yourself

  • Anchor to optimism

  • Unleash curiosity

  • Empower through trust

  • Be bold

At Square Peg, we are passionate about representing the diverse and multicultural founders we work with and encourage people of all backgrounds to apply.

If you think you would be a great fit for either role, we are keen to hear from you! Please contact Meredith Jordan at [email protected] for more information and to apply.

Want to stay up to date with our team?
Join our newsletter.
Combined ShapeCreated with Sketch.Combined ShapeCreated with Sketch.
Square Peg Capital Pty Ltd (ACN 164 352 229) is an Authorised Representative of Victoria Capital Pty Ltd (ACN 159 228 314) AFSL 428989